Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

About Elizabethton




The City of Elizabethton's Zoning Ordinances can be found in Title 14 - Zoning and Land Use Control.

The City of Elizabethton is divided into thirteen (13) classes of districts as follows:

Residence - R-1 District Low Density Residence
Residence - R-2 District Medium Density Residence
Residence - R-3 District High Density
Medical Residential M-R District
Business - B-1 District Neighborhood Business
Business - B-2 District Arterial Business
Business - B-3 District Central Business
Business - B-4 District Intermediate Business
Manufacturing - M-1 District Restricted Manufacturing and Warehousing
Industrial - M-2 District Heavy Industrial
Floodway - F-1 District Floodway
Floodway - F-2 District Floodway Fringe Area

Hazard Mitigation Plan

As part of the overall community planning effort for hazard mitigation, the City of Elizabethton, the City of Watauga, and Carter County, Tennessee prepared a Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan pursuant to the requirements of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (PL 106- 390).


Planning and Development Site Plan Review

Elizabethton Site Plan Review 12-13-13


City of Elizabethton
Direct technical questions or comments to:
The City of Elizabethton does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin,
sex, religion, age or disability in employment or the provision of services.